Ayurveda Seven Dhatus

Submitted by Thiruvelan on Tue, 06/02/2015
Ayurveda Seven Dhatus

The word dhatu comes from the root word dha means basis or foundation. In Ayurvedic medicine, the dhatus (tissues) are the structural component nourishes the body. 

There are seven (sapta) primary dhatus: rasa (plasma tissue, lymph), rakta (blood, red blood cells), mamsa (muscle), meda (adipose tissue, fat), asthi (bone & cartilage), majja (nerve, marrow, connective tissue), and shukra/artava (male & female reproductive system).

During the process of digestion each dhatu nourishes with nutrition to carry our physiological tasks in the body; the left outs becomes the waste product or mala.

  1. Food we eat is firstly converting into Rasa.
  2. After Rasa formation, the remaining converts into Rakta.
  3. After Rakta formation, the remaining converts into Mamsa.
  4. After Mamsa formation, the remaining converts into Meda.
  5. After Meda formation, the remaining converts into Asthi.
  6. After Asthi formation, the remaining converts into Majja.
  7. After Majjas formation, the remaining converts into Shukra.


All the seven tissues of the body contain their own Agni to metabolize the nutrients supplied to them through the channels of circulation.

  • Rasagni in the Rasa Dhatu (plasma tissue, lymph)
  • Raktagni in the Rakta Dhatu (blood, red blood cells)
  • Mamsagni in the Mamsa Dhatu (muscle)
  • Medagni in the Meda Dhatu (adipose tissue, fat)
  • Asthyagni in the Asthi Dhatu (bone & cartilage)
  • Majjagni in the Majja Dhatu (nerve, marrow, connective tissue)
  • Shukragni in the Shukra Dhatu (male & female reproductive system)


According to Ayurveda theory, the foods and liquids are digesting by the digestive system into ahara rasa, a milky substance similar to chyle; the waste becomes feces and urine. Jatharagni is the main digestive fire; if jatharagni is healthy, digestion is perfect.

There are four functional states of jatarāgni according to the influencing dosha or doshas; they are Mandagni, Tikshnagni, Vishamagni, and Samagni.